2021 Club Championship Recap

2021 Club Championship recap

Alpine Bay had an impressive 72 members to play in our Club Championship this past weekend. The weather was as good as could be expected for late August.

The MGA (Men’s Golf Association) provided breakfast for everyone on Saturday and Sunday morning. Russell Howard food truck provided a catfish lunch after Sunday’s round. The food was excellent. If you are planning an event that requires a food service, I highly recommend them.

Twenty of our golfers were in the Championship flight. The Champion was not determined until the last shot was taken. B G Simmons was playing in the next to last group on the course. B G birdied #18 to give him a total of 145 (+1) for the tournament. Jeff Bullen and Joe Howard could birdie and force a playoff. Jeff had a long putt to come up 1″ short and Joe chipped from behind the green and his ball settled in the same spot as Jeff’s putt, both being so close to extending the tournament into overtime. Excellent playing by all three golfers. B G took home the 1st place purse of $1000.00. Jeff Bullen got $250.00 for his 2nd place finish. Joe Howard got $500.00 for 1st place net (130) followed by Shane Cleckler (137) $250.00

There were 13 golfers in the 1st Flight. Chris Robertson took 1st place (+12) ($500)  Rusty Howard finished one shot back for 2nd place ($250). There was a tie for 1st place in the net category with both golfers posting a 135. Randy Burnham and Randy Martin split the $750.00 purse for the net score prize.

The Senior flight had 27 golfers and it paid three places in the gross and net scores. Our 2021 Senior Champion is Moe Basset. Moe posted a round of 68 on day 1 and followed it up with a 72 on day 2 for a tournament total of (140/-4). 2nd place went to Rodney Guy with a 145 and 3rd place went to Paul Woo with a 149.  Don Hopton Jones finished 1st with a net score of 129 followed by Bob Whitmire and 3rd went to Doug MacMurdo.

Twelve golfers competed in the Super Seniors division. Tony Evans is our 2021 Super Senior Champion. Tony posted a two day total of (146/+2) and he was followed by Mike Griffin with a total of (152/+8). The net winners were Joe White (132) and Jim Gorman (136).

We had a $50 closest to the pin awards on all par 3’s. Winners were Wayne Crow, Tommy Griffin, David Donahoo, Ray Marsh, Tony Evans, Randy McDonald, Cole Fincher and Mike Sweatman. Congratulations to all of these golfers for their good play.

Thanks to all of our sponsors and our members that volunteered their time to assist us in whatever we needed. Hats off to the maintenance crew for having the course in very good shape. We look forward to next year’s Club Championship with hopefully another record turnout.